Updating your WSUS for Windows 8 & Windows Server 2012

So Microsoft have released the Update for WSUS 3.0 SP2 (KB2734608) that allows it to be able to recognise Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012 Operating Systems and download the appropriate updates.

Here are the steps I completed to ensure I am ready for the new Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012 operating Systems in my environment. I have a simple Setup with one WSUS Server, my maintenance machine with the snap-in installed and (so far) just the one Windows 8 client. Your experience may be different depending on your own environment.

Downloads

Firstly, download the new update from Microsoft. I would also recommend reading the relevant KB Article: An Update for Windows Server Update Services 3.0 Service Pack 2.0 is available (KB2734608)

Installation

WSUS Server

  1. Install the Update on the server
  2. open Command Prompt and run the following commands
    1. IISReset
    2. net stop WSUSService
    3. net start WSUSService
  3. Open the Console, Update the Product List and begin a Synchronisation

Any Maintenance Consoles

If you use the WSUS MMC Snap-in on any maintenance machines, you will need to install the update on any of those machines. If you do not,all Windows 8 machines will be listed incorrectly. In my case, my Windows 8 x64 client was listed as Windows XP x64

Clients

If you have any clients that may have already been connected to the WSUS server prior to the update, you will need to update these clients as well. Follow these steps to do so:

  1. Open an elevated Command Prompt (Win + X menu)
  2. type the following commands and press enter after each one
    1. net stop wuauserv
    2. rd /s %windir%\softwaredistribution\
    3. y
    4. net start wuauserv
    5. wuauclt /update
  3. This will get the client to update and should register as Windows 8 or Windows Server 2012

image

This entry was posted in Computers, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Updating your WSUS for Windows 8 & Windows Server 2012

  1. Stephen says:

    Thanks, great tips worked well

  2. Michal says:

    Hi, I´ve installed KB2734608 correctly on the WSUS Server (x64) so it patches my W8 machines well, but I have trouble installing it on my maintanance machine (x86) where WSUS Console resides.. I am getting this error message (from wsuspatch28773.log): Windows Server Update Services 3.0 SP2 – Update ‘Hotfix for Widows Server Update Services 3.0 SP2 (KB2734608)’ could not be installed. Error code 1603. Did you have to solve that kind of problem? Thanks!

  3. AhmedE says:

    Thanks for your help

  4. Marko says:

    This really saved my a$$… thanks

  5. MKB says:

    You are awesome!
    Thank you

Leave a comment