Messing with the Windows Live Toobar

You know, I’ve never been one much for Toolbars. Too many websites trying to download them on the sly and they only really replicated functions that were already available. However, as part of testing (and subsequent release) of the Windows Live Essentials, i decided to check out the Windows Live Toolbar.In particular, I was looking at the custom buttons functionality. I had added the Facebook, Skydrive and Office Live buttons from the Windows Live Gallery  and they were somewhat useful, but not a must-have. Then I started reading into creating the custom ones. Of ocurse, you can go into the Custom build from the Windows Live Gallery here but that uploads it and I wanted to be able to create my own.New Toolbar 1So I found out where they are located (C:users%username%AppDataRoamingMicrosoftWindows LiveToolbarCustom Buttons – for Vista machines) and decided to write a bit of XML for my own button. I have added a couple of screen shots to show you what I put together.I added New Toolbar 2 both this blog and the blog that my Xbox writes (Yes, he

has his own blog…) As you can see, it includes the RSS feeds as well as having some of my own links. Clicking on the button itself takes IE to the Remote Access page of my Windows Home Server. This has made my toolbar a bit more useful.I’m now thinking how I can use this for our retailers now….

This entry was posted in Computers, Online and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

