Windows 2003 SP1 Admin Pack on Vista

I got all excited about the new Windows Server 2008 Admin tools to install on my Vista Machines but,  alas, it is only for Vista SP1. Even thought that it is in RC format, I don’t want to do it on my main Work machine just yet. If only I had read the Doco before I uninstalled the W2003 Version.

So, I had to remember how I got it working… Finally, I got it going by doing the following:

1. Right-click on Command Prompt and selecting Run as Administrator

2. Run the Windows 2003 SP1 Admin Pack from elevated Command prompt

3. after install, running a batch file containing the following text

          set filelist=adprop.dll azroles.dll azroleui.dll ccfg95.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% certadm.dll certmmc.dll certpdef.dll certtmpl.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% certxds.dll cladmwiz.dll clcfgsrv.dll clnetrex.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% cluadmex.dll cluadmmc.dll cmproxy.dll cmroute.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% cmutoa.dll cnet16.dll debugex.dll dfscore.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% dfsgui.dll dhcpsnap.dll dnsmgr.dll domadmin.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% dsadmin.dll dsuiwiz.dll imadmui.dll lrwizdll.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% mprsnap.dll msclus.dll mstsmhst.dll mstsmmc.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% nntpadm.dll nntpapi.dll nntpsnap.dll ntdsbsrv.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% ntfrsapi.dll rasuser.dll rigpsnap.dll rsadmin.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% rscommon.dll rsconn.dll rsengps.dll rsjob.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% rsservps.dll rsshell.dll rssubps.dll rtrfiltr.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% schmmgmt.dll tapisnap.dll tsuserex.dll vsstskex.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% w95inf16.dll w95inf32.dll winsevnt.dll winsmon.dll
          set filelist=%filelist% winsrpc.dll winssnap.dll ws03res.dll

          for %%I in (%filelist%) do (
          echo Registering %%I …
          regsvr32 /s %%I

4. Close Command Prompt

Voila, it opened up my custom Console with no problems at all…

This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

