Collingwood maul Slack Swans

A Collingwood defence weakened by injury stood tall at Stadium Australia at Homebush on Saturday night in one of the marquee events on the AFL calendar – the Magpies against the Swans in Sydney.

The crowd responded with 64,222 turning out – the 3rd-best AFL crowd in Sydney – as Collingwood in a red-hot go smashed the Swans in every department, particularly on the scoreboard, where the Magpies deserved to win by 10 goals.

Erin Riley noted for Sportal: The ‘Pies youth brigade continued its display of how exactly a youth policy can be effective, with Scott Pendelbury, and Dale Thomas particularly impressive. They worked in sync with the veterans, with Anthony Rocca (three goals) in fine form, and Paul Licuria effective on return. The combination produced a fierce unit.

With only three goals on the board, the Swans rallied in the last quarter through goals from Barry Hall (twice), ruckman Peter Everitt, Adam Goodes and Michael O’Loughlin, but could not counter the individual brilliance of Thomas and midfielders Pendelbury and Scott Burns. Thomas put the icing on the cake for the Magpies with a spectacular snap from the boundary line.

The pumped-up Magpies emerged from their mid-season break looking like genuine AFL premiership contenders. The victory lifts the Magpies to an 8-4 win-loss record and strengthens their position in the top four, while 2006 runners-up Sydney are losing touch with the top eight, with six wins from 12 games.

Sydney coach Paul Roos rated the Swans as playing the worst football in his five years with the Swans. 



2007 — ROUND 12 — GAME 7

Sydney v Collingwood

Saturday (n), June 23, 2007
Stadium Australia, Homebush, 7.15pm AEST, crowd: 64,222
Conditions: Fair to good, following considerable rain during week
Weather: 11C, fine


1/4 time

1/2 time

3/4 time








3.5-23 (16)

6.11-47 (34)

8.13-61 (39)

10.16-76 (19)

Goals: Collingwood: Dale Thomas 4, Anthony Rocca 3, Alan Didak, Travis Cloke, Scott Pendlebury. Sydney: Barry Hall 2, Michael O’Loughlin 2, Luke Ablett, Ryan O’Keefe, Peter Everitt, Adam Goodes.
Best: Collingwood: Dale Thomas, Scott Pendlebury, Travis Cloke, Anthony Rocca, Shane Wakelin. Sydney: Ted Richards, Michael O’Loughlin, Ryan O’Keefe, Brett Kirk.
Umpires: Dean Margetts, Shaun Ryan, Michael Vozzo.

This entry was posted in Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s